MrsSurvival Discussion Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Guest

Would any of you be interested?

Guest Guest

Hi all! I'm writting sort of an online book, and wondered if any of you would be interested in reading it? I'll post chapter 1 and see what you guys think. This is my first attempt at writting, so please go easy on me! It is a "the end of the world as we know it" kind of book. Let me know what you think! Thanks!

Guest Guest

Joy slammed on the brakes as the guy in front of her swerved. What was this all about? Her little four year old in the back started crying.

“Victoria, are you ok?” Joy called back, looking at her through the rearview mirror.

“Yes, a little bit ok” Victoria answered.

Her crying slowed to a whimper as Joy looked in the mirror again to make sure no one was behind her. There wasn’t. The guy in front of her had continued on his way as a family of ducks finished crossing the highway behind him.

Joy thought of laying on the horn, but with the way things were going lately, she thought she better not. She turned down the music on the radio and pulled over. Her heart was pumping so hard she was sure Victoria could hear it loud and clear.

“What are we doing Mommy?” Victoria asked with tears still in her eyes.

“Mommy just needs to relax a little bit before we keep going, ok?” Joy said, trying to sound as normal as she could.

This was the closest she had come to having an accident. And of course it would have been her fault, as she would have been the one hitting from behind. Or maybe not. She knew there were exceptions to the rule, but she wasn’t sure what those were.

Joy turned in her seat to face Victoria as best as she could, and reached out her hand to place it on Victoria's knee. She put her little hand on Joy's.

“Do you want to pray Victoria? And thank Jesus for helping us to not hit that car in front of us?” Joy asked, still a little shaken.

She nodded her head and closed her eyes tightly.