MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Prepper in Louisiana

CoM

Hello:

I just lost a long post somehow so have to start all over...sigh.

I have been lurking here for a while and have decided it's time to join. I need more friends with the same kind of interests. It gets lonely out in the world as a prepper sometimes. I prefer to see it as quasi homesteading.

We need like minded friends to encourage us along the way, to teach us new things and to validate that we are not a fanatic just because we see things that many do not.

I have been prepping for 10 years. Along the way I have made many mistakes but have learned alot. I spent almost everday in 1999 researching, teaching myself to can etc and stocking a year supply of everything one could ever want or need being laughed at by family and tolerated by hubby.

The supplies had dwindled down quite a bit, so about a year ago I felt strongly inspired to reevaluate what we had left and bring everything back up to that standard or beyond. This time hubby is more onboard as long as I talk from an economic perspective..lol

10 Things we are doing different this time:

1- Have turned the spare bedroom off the kitchen into a real pantry. ( Storing food in a laundry room with heat and light was a disaterous mistake)

2- Am storing more of what family WILL eat this time.

3- Using and rotating !!! ( not to loose our investment.

4- Canning & drying more of our garden instead of giving most of it away. Seeing exactly how much we grow in a season, trying to grow enough of everything to actually last a year.

5- Trying to grow more non hybrids and learning to collect & save seed.

6- Bought those last few expensive items ( Big Burkey water filter, good hand grain mill, etc.

7- Tearing out fireplace and replacing with wood burning heater. (Fireplaces are for looks not warmth).