MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Greetings from MD

zophiel

Hello everyone! I've been lurking about for a few days, but figured courtesy demands I introduce myself at some point, even if I tend toward lurking generally.

So, I'm a single chick who lives in Suburban MD, works for the Army (Go Army!), and has an unnatural love of subtitled japanese cartoons and ninjas. I got my bachelors degree in 2002 from Loyola University New Orleans in Music Education, which is, of course, why I now have a gov't job.

I suppose I've been prepping in small ways for several years, from teaching myself to knit and crochet (Mom taught me sewing, embroidering and quilting as a kid, but never anything yarn-based), to teaching myself to garden veggies, herbs, and even some fruit (Mom has a brown thumb-- she jokes that she kills even silk flowers). While I haven't yet taught myself to spin, I've read up on it, so at least I've got the basic theory down, which is a start . . .

I've been haunted by a need to know at least the basics of how to do things for some time now, a feeling familiar to when I lived in New Orleans. In the years between 1998 and 2002, my friends and I would sit around in our dorm rooms, and casually talk about the great storm that would soon flood the city. We knew it would happen within 10 years, and we all promised each other to get out of New Orleans as soon as we could after finishing our schooling. The last of the bunch left NO exactly one month before Katrina hit.