MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Hello from N. Mississippi

RebelDigger

Hello there! I have to say I have been lurking around for a while and just love this forum, you folks are great! I decided to register so I could join in the fun.

I am a 47 year old mother of two, step mother of two and grandma to two beautiful little girls. I live with my DH in a 118 year old Victorian house on a half acre lot in the middle of our little village. Hubby wants to move, he wants more acreage and way out in the boonies. I have mixed feelings but, since I am the one who is the prepper in the family I see the feasibility. It would also be neat to have enough land to get a cow, some pigs and more chickens (I have 13 but would love to have more). So, we shall see what we shall see. It is in God's hands, if He wants me elsewhere then the perfect place will happen.

I am a Southern girl to the core of my being, with Southern roots going back to 1642 in Virginia. I graduated from Ole Miss with a degree in archaeology hence my user name and I love the old ways. I am also a Civil War reenactress and have learned a lot about living the 19th Century low tech life from that. I used to run a business called Allie's Trunk and made mid 19th Century clothing for lady's. My specialties were corsets and cage crinolines. Now, I only sew for myself and family and am getting back into quilting. I sew on a Singer 66 treadle sewing machine, my other machine is also a Singer 66 with a motor but it mostly stays in it's case in the corner since I prefer the treadle.

Anyway, there are a few facts about moi Glad to be here with like minded people.

Maggie

Ohhh, Cool! Someone regularly using a treadle machine who can report on it for others! Westbrook had experience with a lot of machines, but she's been gone from the boards an awful long time.

groupsmile.gif

Whatever you're interested in exploring, just ask. Chances are we have just what you need somewhere around here... **shuffles papers around**...