MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Introduction about me...then no more about me...Promise

Pamela1

Hello; I'm Pam. You could probably find me on political sites and health care sites as subership. I'm a registered nurse x 32 years in ICU, ER, and Public Health. Then I got a little too weak to keep working 12 hour shifts. I learned to can and sew as a kid, but the only area of expertise I have is bandages and emergencies. To keep busy, while I figure out where I'm going to go next, I've been canning. When I was a kid, a Jamaican who lived with us, was aghast at the "weeds" we didn't eat, and the wasting of the chicken bones. Hence, my question about eating canned chicken bones. (I guess I'll grind up the next jar I open and find out!) Now, tonight, I'm wondering about canning sweet potatoes and yams in orange juice and bananas instead of syrup. (Not in the Ball Book).....I'm looking for alternatives to sugar besides the pesky chemical ones on the market. I managed to blow up a jar in the pressure canner today. That was a first. Maybe too full?canning.gif Heck if I know. I'm single, the kids are grown, and my significant other died last August. I guess I can't poison anyone. But, I've still got things to do. Just have to figure out where. soapbox.gif I'm looking for any suggestions in that area, too. Anyone know where you can get a good sedentary nursing job after years on your feet? Here they want you to be experienced at it first. tapfoot.gif

Welcome. Violet is our resident canning expert (does it professionally). Many of us do can and enjoy sharing with each other our successes and failures. Maybe your jar that exploded had a weak spot in it. The few I have lost just had the bottom break out, probably from being banged against something.

Could you do some private duty nursing, or home health stuff that might not require so much standing?

Welcome!