MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Pinto beans

Ok, I've got the red beans I'm making up with rice and sausage tonight, but I just cooked up a pot of pintos. Some I made refried beans with and some I left whole with the juice....um.....NOW what do I do with them? Both the whole and mashed? I have some flour tortillas and I'm going to try and pat out some corn ones. I'm trying to learn NOW what things I can make if things get grim. Normally if I made burritos I'd use sour cream and lettuce. 'm thinking what would I do if I had no power? I know I can make sour cream with powdered milk but I use buttermilk to start it so i still need the fridge. if all I have is beans and tortilla, how do I season the beans so it all tastes good? Thanks for reading all my bean questions Canada doesn't really "do" beans (except maybe baked beans wich we don't like at all) so I have no "cultural knowledge" here as to how to eat them LOL.

Ok, thanks grubby, I'll spice up the refried and make burritos for lunch today. As for eating the whole beans straite though noone here likes beans strate at all! LOL. would pintos work in chili? Anyone have a soup recipe that uses cooked beans?

Hi! You can dry the cooked Pinto beans - mashed, spread on dryer trays, wish I could give you times, but the thinner you spread them the quicker they dry - use sheets on trays for this or alternatively use plastic wrap, just don't cover the entire tray - leave the edges open at least an inch. These re-hydrate beautifully for dips, or just refried Beans. Good luck!

Here are two recipes I enjoy:

web page I don't care for lentils or split peas, so I played mix-n-match with the beans and just used a total of 1.25 cups of varieties that I like. I also think it could use more barley.

and

web page

- I added a bunch of sliced green pepper to this one and it's really nummy!

My kids LOVE this one:

Pizza Beans

1 lb. pinto beans (or navy beans/small white)

6 cups water

1 onion, chopped

1 cup tomato sauce