MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Canning dried beans...Can the Ball Blue Book be right on this?

GinnyB

Now that I've pressure canned salsa, tomato sauce, beef in sauce, seasoned hamburger, chicken cubes, and pork cubes, and water bathed a few jams and a lot of apples (well, a lot by my city standards!), I'd like to try pressure canning some pinto, white, and red kidney beans (or something more exotic like cranberry beans if I can find them). I checked my 2006 Ball Blue Book, page 64. It says to use two and one-quarter pounds of dried beans or peas per quart.

This sounds like way TOO many beans per quart to me, but I've never done beans before so maybe this is correct. Also, directions call to soak the beans for 12 to 18 hours, drain, and then boil in fresh water for 30 minutes before filling jars. One cooking site I read said this made for mushy beans.

I know the experts here have pressured canned dried beans. What's your experience?

Thanks, Ginny

Beans, dried Navy or Baby Limas - 2 1/3 cups per pound (6c cooked)

Beans, dried Kidney = 1 1/2 cups per pound (6c.cooked)

http://www.barryfarm.com/How_tos/how_many_..._a_pound_of.htm

I put one cup of dry beans in a qt jar and fill with water to within 1/2 inch. Let soak over night in the jar. Then I loosen the beans up so they aren't packed in the bottom of the jar (I use a plate knife) add a tsp of salt and 2 tablespoons of dried onion and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. Put lid on and pressure can 10 pounds for 90 minutes. You can omit the seasonings if you prefer.

Trish, you don't cook the beans first? That sounds like a recipe I'd like to try. The only failure I ever had in canning was my soup beans. I only tried it once but all 8 of my quarts didn't last. I cooked the beans first.

After a couple of months the lids popped and the smell was awful. Evidently, they fermented in the jars. I might have packed them too tightly.