MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

OVERWHELMED!!!!

ma & pa steel

Ok, as I just described in a recent post, I am very new to this whole survival thing. I never paid any attention to it, but after an experiance this summer when we had to flee the house with no warning with only the clothes on our backs, I am serious about GETTING prepared. But I don't know where on earth to start. Can some give some advice or some links for the total novice (who needs some hand holding LOL) to get me going without getting so overwhemed in information that I spin my wheels. Another incidence just comes to mind, my husband was in a near fatal accident a year ago, it sure would have been nice if I had been prepared to allow him to take a year off to REALLY recoup instead of him having to go back as soon as workers comp says "Your'e fine, go back to work"

Hi Goatlady, it does look like a daunting task, getting prepared, but most of learned that it quickly happens when we set our minds to it. Buy a little extra every week, and buy variety so your diet doesn't become too boring. If you can, invest in a couple of 50 lb bags of flour, sugar and pasta, and beans....whatever you eat. Those foundation items can become alot of different meals.

Start putting away water, whether it be bottled water or 55 gallon drums, and rotate it. Determine if your primary objective is to shelter at home or bug out, and plan accordingly. Your most immediate needs are water, shelter, food, and heat. You probably already some alternative cooking methods at your home...gas BBQ, charcoal BBQ, camping stove, wood stove, etc.

Work on the basics first. You'll see how fast it accumulates. Oh, and keep quiet about what you are doing. I'm sure someone else will offer even more detail. Happy to have you here.