MrsSurvival Discussion Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Grubby

Cleaning...

I'm just a newbie, so I hope it's okay that I'm butting in, but I'd suggest that a wooden handled broom would be easy to fix with a bar clamp and some Gorilla glue. With the added benefit that gorilla glue, when properly set, is stronger then the wood itself (basically, the broom will break some where else next time ). Also, depending on what type of broom you had, you could take the whole handle off and carve a small branch to replace it. Or, depending on what type of metal the broom handle is you could just bend it back into place and add duck tape!.

i would bend it back in place with another stick duct tape over the bend to reinforce it. i always have tons of sticks and stuff. my kids bring them home...

Quote:

What about vinegar, is it safe on surfaces and why do
people use it?

What if I run out of Lysol how do I disinfect surfaces,
without using bleach?

I found out that.....

White distilled vinegar is a popular household cleanser, effective for killing most mold, bacteria, and germs, due to its level of acidity. Cleaning with white distilled vinegar is a smart way to avoid using harsh chemicals. You’ll also be glad to know that it is environmentally friendly and very economical.

There are tons of tips here. vinegar

It's good to know about the vinegar, since you can make that from scratch.

You can, also, make brooms from scratch. You can grow broom corn and use the tops for the bristles. I'm sure you could use other things, too, such as grasses or grain stems. Use branches for handles. Try to find straight ones or you might as well just use that bent handled broom. (I can't laugh too hard. I did the same thing to one of mine. I kept it, too, but doubt I'll ever use it)