MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Starting plants indoors from seed for the garden

quiltys41

I would like to start my own plants this year for my garden. Usually I run to Wally world, Lowes, or the local nursery to get them. But...what if I couldn't afford to do that or SHTF

and we couldn't do it? I'm a rank newbie at this so it has to be basic, basic info. I don't even know when to start them. Do you just use potting soil? Do you need special pots or will styrofoam cups work just as well? So many ???? so little time lol.

Q

here is a good plan for you -

If you can- go to a 'local' garden center not Wally World or any big box store for your plants. MOST of them (notice I said most- so don't come back with 'ours' doesn't people) anyway most of the big places just plant seeds for all their stores in one place whereas your local garden center is (for the most part) planting seeds that will grow well in your area. Also do this simple test - go to the big box store and pull up one little seedling pack and look at the roots, then go to your local garden center and do the same thing. I bet you will see that the center has many more roots and they are not dried out but white and healthy looking. It makes a big differance if your seedlings have had any 'stress' during those first few weeks - they will take longer to mature and set fruit. You may not notice it when you plant them in your garden but that is why everybody else has tomatoes before you do.

Michael1