MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Anyone starting seeds yet?

CoM

Is everyone getting excited about your spring gardens? I am on the border of zones 8-9.

I started seeds today while hubby finished working on a cold frame. We can transplant at the beginning of March.

I planted 4 types of tomatoes, bell peppers, a 2nd crop of cauliflower, broccoli & lettuce. Also thyme, oregano & sage.

He will sow seeds directly in the garden come spring for corn, green beans,limas & okra, watermelon & cantelope.

Hubby likes to grow squash & eggplant but we are not big eaters of them so this year we will use that space for more of what we do eat.

I also started tons of herbs, hoping to start using some of them for medicinal needs such as

St. Johnswort,Anise, hyssop,lemon balm,

peppermint, chamomile, feverfew,lovage, basil, calendula & echinacea.

I am new to herbs so hope they all come up. I know some are perennials which is good. We won't have to replant them every year.

I'm zone 6b-7a.

Next week I get started.

I'll sow all of my onion seeds in flats inside.

I'll start some lettuce in pots and then scramble to get my son to build my cold frames for them so I can move them to the garden in a few weeks.

I'll sow half of my brocolli, cabbage and kale inside, and then they'll be moved to my plastic covered tunnels later.

There are 16 weeks till my average last frost date.

I really miss working outside. At least this year I have my chickens. On nice days I sit out there with them. It gives me a reason to go outside in the winter.

I envy you. When I lived in Arizona, I started my tomatoes in January. Of course, I had all of my coles and lettuce to tend in the winter. The gardening season never stopped there.