MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

storing mayonnaise

Hi, I am new to prepping and to blogging. Not sure if this is the spot to ask my question...

I thought I had a good idea for storing mayo, and bought individual packets at Sam's club. Then I noticed an expiration date on the bottom of the case for august 09! Do you store mayo? How, and how long is it safe? Thanks! Cathy

Thats a very good question you have about individual packets of mayo. Mayo is very sensitive to storage conditions and heat. I am hoping Violet or someone very well versed in storing mayonnaise in particular can give you definitive advice concerning this. For myself I would think that if its cool,dry storage is best, but if we lost power and you had no summer airconditioning, how hot would your kitchen or pantry get? Mayo turns bad fast in any heat, as a rule. Still, if stored properly in controlled conditions, perhaps a 2 -3 yr period might be possible. But I make no promises.

Mayo in the jar may store longer in such conditions, but many of the folks here just keep recipes handy for making their own mayo, it is mostly egg whites, in fact, so you may want to do further research on Mrs S, to find those threads in the recipes section. I really don't know about storing the individual packets in such a large quantity, as I only thought so far as to maybe have some packets of various condiments in my BOB which I tend to change seasonally anyway, so it's not set up for super long term storage of foods I would be using. Good luck in your gathering of information. Most of all, the concern is safest methods of food storage.