MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Stockpiling Medicines

Hi Friends,

I am slowly but surely building up our reserves. It dawned on me in the past couple of days that I have NO medicines stockpiled!! And I am a registered nurse! Oh the shame! Seriously. :ashamed0002: So I am going to try to put together a medical kit this week.

I have a couple of questions, if y'all don't mind:

1) How do you know how much to buy? It seems there would be a fine line between 'enough' and 'too much' that would expire. I have myself and dh, 5yo boy, 3yo girl, 13mo girl and a baby due in November. Obviously we need things like Tylenol, Motrin, Benadryl. How do I buy enough, yet not have to waste it due to the expiration date going bad?

2) Where can I buy antibiotics? I have a daughter allergic to most penicillins, so I specifically need Zithromax for her. And if I have to mail order these antibiotics, how do I know they are safe?

3) How do you stockpile prescription meds? I''m thinking specifically of my son's asthma meds.

My husband is getting laid off next Friday, so I obviously need to do this as frugally as possible. But I feel like it is a necessity. I can't believe I haven't thought of it before now...

Thanks so much for any help you can offer!

I keep my vitamins and prescription medications in a thermoelectric IGLOO cooler with an A/C adapter to run it in the home, which sits on a bookcase near the kitchen door. It keeps these items as a cool temperature that will extend the life substantially better than at room temperature and doesn't take up room in the refrigerator. I constantly use/rotate these items so the freshest is available, but most items will be good for a year or more beyond the expiration date, if you have kept them cool.

I use the igloo since in case of an emergency I can grab and carry it to the car (and plug in there) without any delay and the items are still kept cool.