MrsSurvival Discussion Forums
MrsClark

Slow lettuce

Last year I planted lettuce, butter crunch and summer bibb, and it all sprouted little babies and then boom, did nothing and then boom, gone, disappeared.

This year, I am worried about seeing the same trend. I have a bunch a little baby lettuce sprouts, and it has been that way for a week or more.... but nothing is happening, of course we are getting a lot of rain and not much sun....

I am new to this, but last year they disappeared into thin air and I got no lettuce! What happened?

Hmmm... I've never had that happen before. I usually grow my non-head varieties of lettuce in window boxes. I like for them to get sun when they are small and then I try to shade them a bit to keep them from bolting. Were your seedlings inside or outside? Was there some sort of a freeze?

Hmmm... I've never had that happen before. I usually grow my non-head varieties of lettuce in window boxes. I like for them to get sun when they are small and then I try to shade them a bit to keep them from bolting. Were your seedlings inside or outside? Was there some sort of a freeze?

I seeded them directly outside and no, there hasnt been a freeze since I planted them...

Maybe there is something in the soil that the plant don't like... I started growing peas in pots because they did so poorly in my main garden. They only grew about 4 inches tall. They did really well in pots. A couple of years ago, I installed new raised beds in my side yard and the peas do really well over there. The only thing that I can think of is that the soil in the main garden just isn't conducive to growing them.

Were they planted to close together maybe?

Or something like the birds, squirrels or mice got them as it might have been the only thing around to eat?