MrsSurvival Discussion Forums
Sign in to follow this  
ROBIE

Solar panels vs EMP

I've Been doing a lot of reading of survival fiction where we get hit with an EMP, such as "One Second After" and the "Going Home" books.

One thing I've noticed in them is that generators that are hard connected to start running as soon as power goes out such as in a hospital will die as with the rest of the power because of the hard connection.

One other thing is solar panels. Out here in So Cal, new homes are built with solar panels already on. Others are going solar for the rebates and tax breaks and to save from the huge power bills we get.

So, if the generators go out because they are hard connected, wouldn't solar panels do the same?

I'm no expert on solar panels, so I'm going to be doing a lot of reading up on that subject very soon.

Robie

Certainly parts will get fried, any circuitry will get fried. I do not think solar panel power will work after an emp. One would have to have faraday caged parts to put together, maybe including batteries, to produce solar power again. Most appliances will get fried, even lamps in case of an emp I would think. I would not trust solar power as back up if it is already in use and parts are not stored properly in a faraday box, which could be taking up vital space for other preps that would be useful after the fact of an emp.

Thanks Sassenach, that backs up some thoughts I've had already, but more study needs to be done.

Robie

That's a good question. I have no idea. I didn't think solar panels would be effected. Sheesh. :misc-smiley-231:

My cousin had her house hard wired with a generator. She lived in South Carolina and every year they had ice storms and the power would go off. She was on home dialysis so she really did need power for her machine every night. It would come on automatically when the electricity went off. They still had to feed it gasoline and it was VERY noisy.