MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Who Does Container Gardening?

Dee

I have gardened for more years than I care to count, BUT I've never done container gardening.  Now that I'm older it's a long way down to the ground and getting up seems further yet. :) 

So, this year I'm going to try container gardening.  Can anyone give me some suggestions?  Do I need to use expensive soils or can I just use our beautiful black Iowa soil?  For things like tomatoes, peppers, you know the regular garden things, is a direct south sun too hot for plants in containers?  How about that hot after west sun?  I know they need watering at least once a day.  What about fertilizers?

I am really new at this so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks in advance! 

Dee

• Like 1

We do a lot of container gardening as well as raised beds.  We will be "defining" our container gardening next year (not this...we're resting) and doing it like the youtuber 

Leon.  He's got several methods that appeal to us.

• Like 4

I'm going to be doing a lot of raised bed and container gardening next year too. I can still get down with the best of them. Getting back up is another story though.  :rolleyes:

Wish I had more advice but I'm going to be new to it too. I do watch a lot of Youtube videos.

I like the idea of raised beds. Especially the taller ones. Make sure they are narrow enough to reach half way across from both sides comfortably. Any tools you need can be small hand tools. You can get little seats with wheels on them so you can sit and roll around the garden. Think skate board style.

I've seen where people use grow bags and even one of those small hard plastic kiddie pools.

• Like 2