MrsSurvival Discussion Forums
HazelStone

"Okay, Sweetie, you were right."

Been away a while. Lots of crap over the last couple-few years. Some good stuff, too, and right as we were going to relax the purse strings a bit and go on a major trip... this happened. Right as I was trying to get the pantry re-sorted after the Drugstore Beetle Fiasco did in our stored pasta and we felt rather stupid for letting it snowball like that.

I'd been following the current mess since December, thought it only a matter of time, and started re-stocking our current staples. Husband commented on it. I told him it doesn't hurt, and it was just in case. Started picking up extra things at the international market, or at Trader Joe's...waving aside my husband's comments.

Late January the pandemic started being discussed at work. I'd mentioned that I studied a lot of logistics for my degree and learned that civilization really was 3 meals from anarchy, it was winter anyway, so why not pick up a few extra things? And I left it at that. And kept picking up a few extra things. And rebalanced some investments.

Come March, all Hell breaks loose, the stores are gutted, there's a dude in a plague mask standing in front of Trader Joe's, there are purchase limits on what's left, my husband wasn't able to complete his shopping list. One of my coworkers frantically messaged me that if I didn't have food in the house, to take PTO and go get some while it was still there. I was able to say "Naaah I'm good."  And later as my husband reached for one of his staples that I stocked up on, he stopped and realized something. Then said, "Okay, Sweetie, you were right."