MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Learn to crochet

• 9 months later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

I do best with someone right there beside me showing me how to do things. I haven't crocheted for years. When my oldest was a baby our nextdoor neighbor taught me. I was making a baby afghan. We talked and crocheted and before I knew it it was a twin bed afghan!

Jan

• 7 months later...

i have been on a crocheting wirlwind lately. i have been making things to sell at the craft fair coming up in novenmber plus all the x-mas gifts i have been dreaming up. i am glad i found this post! great for new ideas. when i take photos i will post them so you all can see what i have been making. thanks all for the links!!!

• 3 months later...
  • 1 month later...

Well, I have been collecting crochet hooks, books and patterns for a few years now. I finally got a book that tells/shows very clearly how these stitches go together, both left hand and right hand. Where to connect them was my downfall previously. I started crocheting a week ago and so far have mastered: chain stitch, slip stitch, single crochet, half double crochet, and will be starting double crochet tonight or tomorrow. I'm just doing practice pieces. I can see where I have hooked into the wrong stitch and it shows on the back. Only a few places, though. The book says I can do a potholder with the stitches I've learned so far. I want to make a scarf with the fancy kind of yarns that I bought already, like eyelash yarn kind of. You mix it with regular yarn for strength and the fancy stuff for the feathery effect. I can hardly wait to get good enough to make it.

The book I got is by Leisure Arts and is titled,

10 - 20 - 30 Minutes to Learn to Crochet.