MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

What Michigan is saying about Avian Flu

Bamboo

This is from an email I received at work. I work in a hospital. It is from the Michigan Department of Community Health. They have quite a website if anyone is interested. Just do a google for it.

Guidelines for Healthcare Providers Regarding

Avian Influenza and the Use of Antivirals

October 18, 2005

MDCH strongly discourages healthcare providers from prescribing and the public from requesting antivirals for private stockpiling purposes, based on concern about the possibility of an influenza pandemic due to the current avian influenza situation in southeast Asia.

• H5N1 is a highly pathogenic strain of influenza currently circulating in birds in Asia and Eastern Europe.

• Since December 2003, over 116 people have become ill and at least 60 have died from H5N1 infection. No sustained or ongoing transmission of H5N1 avian influenza among humans has occurred.

• There has been no H5N1 influenza in birds or humans in the Western Hemisphere at this time.

• Studies done in laboratories suggest that the prescription medicines approved for human flu viruses should work in preventing bird flu infection in humans. However, flu viruses can become resistant to these drugs, so these medications may not always work. There has been one case reported of a strain of avian influenza that has demonstrated some resistance to oseltamivir (Tamiflu).

• The indiscriminate and inappropriate use of Tamiflu may promote the development and spread of resistance to this important drug.

• There have been reports of numerous requests for antivirals. Individual stockpiling of oseltamivir at this time may impact the ability for public health to adequately respond to a pandemic, should one occur.

• Government stockpiles of oseltamivir are limited and there is a worldwide shortage of oseltamivir, with limited production capacity at the present time.