MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Teach me?

Guest Guest

I have been dabbling around with Genealogy for a few years now, but never seem to get any further than family conversations. in other words, I have no idea how to research. I also need to know how to do as much research as possible spending very little.

I would appreciate any tips.

------------------

~MsAng

"Love's the only house

big enough for all the

pain in the world."

First, go to the Mormon's website and download their free genealogy program.

www.familysearch.com

When you get to their main page, click on "Product Download", then "Software Downloads-Free", then the first product on the page.

After it downloads, start it up and play with it a bit. Start your database by adding all your known relatives.

Then you might try the free genealogy bulletin boards at www.familyhistory.com. These boards are now owned by Ancestry.com, but are still free. When you get to the website home page, about 1/2 way down on the left side is a "window" where you can type in family surnames.

Here's another little secret about that site.....if you type in a county, instead of a surname you can post messages who are researching folks in the same county as your ancestors. This can be really, really helpful for finding info on folks who "married in" to your main lines, but you don't know anything about them.

Familyhistory.com also has BB's for different ethnic groups, adoptees, Native Americans and just about any other group you can think of.

I'm sure Snow will be along with other great tips! grin.gif

Happy Hunting!! wink.gif

------------------

gl.jpg

Are there any other download sites for genealogy? I have a Mac and don't believe I have the Window's emulator required for the D/L.

I will check into the Bulletin boards. And I will check to see if Apple makes genealogy software.

Thank you for your help.

------------------

~MsAng

"Love's the only house

big enough for all the

pain in the world."