MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Civil War Story...

Wheeler

This story was written by my friend Jeannie Travis who is on a mailing list with me... she gave me permission to put her little story here... I hope some of you enjoy it... I did!!!

Mary

GEORGE W. SCHUFF, Confederate Soldier

I am George W Schuff, which is a mite confusin since Pa didn't give me no double name and he spelt his name Shuff, so I'll tell you how that come about...I put that W in there my own self 'cos the mail carrier was always gittin mine and Pa's mail mixed up, and I 'd git my dander up when Pa would hand me a letter of mine he'd opened up...Seems like ever time

he jist had to give his opinion on my business .... That 'C' stuck in the middle of my last name was somethin I studied on long and hard. Ya see, this storekeeper over at Clarksville asked me one time was I Jewish, said Shuff was a Jewish name...Well, I know for a certain fact we aint, and those folks seem to git throwed off on a good bit, so I stuck that

C in the middle and that was the end of that.

I'm settin' here on my front porch this evenin, lookin out acrost the holler, jist thinkin of all the long steps that brought me to this time and place... These cool days git me to thinkin of the time when me and my brothers Samuel and James marched off to fight the Yankees..joinin up with A Co., the 15th Tennessee Infantry ...Mama didn't want Sam to go

with us, but he snuck off and they wasn't much she could do against it once he had done put his name down on the list .