MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Tricks for canning on a ceramic-top stove?

Guest Guest

Guest Guest

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie canner about to take the plunge. A few years ago hubby spent a fortune on a big beautiful pressure canner for me and its been sitting ever since in its box in the garage. I think I'm finally ready to deal with my fears and can something.

Guest Guest

angela!!!

Hi! we were all chicken canners at first! though I grew up canning... I never canned alone.. my first time I was so scared! what if I don't cook it long enough and it comes our runny... syrup! what if I cook it too long and it turns into candy! or what if I don't do something right.. no one was looking over my shoulder and no other activity in the kitchem saying... "how much longer... how long has it been whistling?" LOL! so you are not alone we all have the canning jitters at first.

about your top... I was at Wal-Mart and they had a Presto canner.. it said on the box.. "ok to use on flat top stoves' or something similar.

I have an all american and a standard top (electric) which I use my small canner on, and my big canner is used on a propane burner outside.

which model canner do you have?

Guest Guest

I started canning on a glass top stove and did many, many jars there. I now have a commercial gas stove and a monster canner so the work has stepped up a bit but the basics remain the same.

There will be a learning curve with how your canner will work with your stove and you'll just hafta fiddle with it to keep the pressure where it needs to stay, until you get that down pat. Read your instruction book that came with your canner, read the instructions for your stove that talk about canning on it to see if there are any special considerations you need to have, then go from there.