MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

helpful low sodium recipes and tricks

I have been cooking low sodium on and off for many years, but lately both my room mate's and my doctors have asked us about a low sodium diet.  They have been happy with the steps we have routinely integrated into our lives and our diets, so I am passing on some of our hints and 'greatest hits' recipes.

1  Start by changing the salt in the shaker, substituting salt substitute for part of the salt.  Since every substitute I have tried has an odd taste, this tactic hides it, and as I played with the ratio of substitute to salt, I find that we taste the substitute at around 3/4ths substitute and 1/4 salt, so we generally run ours at around 60% No-Salt.  Guests do not seem to notice the difference, either.

2.  Taste test the low sodium products but do not expect miracles.  Also, when salt is removed, then manufacturers often add other things like chemicals or extra sugar.  So I tend to use regular food.

3.  When you use a 'salty' product, try diluting it to get the sodium levels down.  I use the lowest salt soy sauce I can find, and dilute it 50% with water.  It still gets the flavor job done.  I diluteed my 

Asian Ginger flavor salad dressing (when they made it...its gone now) with a nonfat artificially sweetened "oil and vinegar" dressing which matched its texture, dropped the calories & sodium dramatically, yet still allowed the flavor to shine through.  This works best with strongly flavored foods.    I use the same technique to cut the saturated fats in foods. mixing my own table spread of 50% real butter and 50% canola oil.  All the flavor, but much less saturated fat.