MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Eleven Common, Safe & Effective Medicinal Plants

Lois

Always do your own research befor using herbal remedies. Eleven Common, Safe & Effective Medicinal Plants

Each of these has been tested by at least decades if not centuries of successful, safe, traditional use, and/or by rigorous scientific studies (controlled double-blind randomized, large sample, reviewed, and reproducible). They are safe if used in anything less than greatly unreasonable quantities. Nevertheless, be careful, and if you have doubts (and you should) always check with a knowledgeable health practitioner. Also, someone will be allergic to even the safest of these. I use them all, but I'm just an amateur.

1. Plantain (Plantago major)--On most lawns, other trampled places. A humble plant that treats beestings, abrasions, cuts, etc. Just short of miraculous for relieving pain and swelling, use as a fresh poultice. Astringent, with no known toxicity, contraindications, or side effects. (Info), (Scan) (Picture)

2. Catnip (Nepeta cataria)--makes a tasty tea that is soothing and calming to humans (cats are contrary). A cup or two a day is also good for the digestion, for flatulence, and is very safe. (Info, Scan)

3. Mint (Menta spp.)--this tea is excellent after a heavy meal. It relaxes yet stimulates the digestive system, and is very tasty. Safe, effective, and mildly stimulating, use it wild or tame, fresh or dried. (Scan)

4. Yarrow (Achillea millefolium)--two uses. Fresh, it is a poultice for wounds that stops bleeding and speeds healing. Works well as a salve, too. Dried, made into a hot tea, it fights colds and flu, and promotes sweating, and heals internal wounds. It's bitter, and needs honey. It also soothes the digestion. Use cautiously during pregnancy, or if severely allergic to the aster family. (Scan)