MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Wedding in December

My sister just informed us that her and her boyfriend are getting married in December. No offense to anyone out there that had a Christmas-time wedding, but I have always had the opinion that if you schedule it around that time, you may not want a whole lot of people coming, simply because of the cost and time limitations.

To put it in perspective, we announced ours 1 year ahead of time. I'm a planner and I need time!

Don't get me wrong, I am so happy for her. They have had a long-distance (IN-AK) relationship for the last year and she is depressed everytime he leaves. But they have to realize, that is not a great time of year for many people, especially when you have to drive 9 hrs to get there. Not to mention, I work in retail and those weeks are blacked out and the same for DH, except he works in insurance.

So, I now have to go beg my boss to make an exception (which won't happen) and when that doesn't work out we will have to leave as soon as I get off on the 29th, drive 9 hrs, go to the wedding on my day off, drive back so I can be home in time to go to work on the 31st.

She is trying to schedule it around my work schedule, which is nice, but I still can't get past the frustration. Because in her fiance's words, "Everyone has Christmas time off" Ugh. Not retail or insurance businesses!:tapfoot:

Oh yeah, and Grandma may, or may not be going through radiation, so there's that too.

To top it all off, this means we will be skipping the annual visits to DH's side of the family (Grandparents), of which I have constantly received guilt trips because of my last work schedule! :misc-smiley-231:

I am SO trying to brush it off and just be happy for her, which is a huge step for me because I never really liked the guy... I'm getting better now though. lol

Thanks for reading, I just had to vent!