MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Food Saver ?

brendajo

I have never used a food saver before. Can someone walk me through sealing jars? Can I use regular canning jars with the two piece lids? Do I have to use the lids they sell?I was thinking about buying one but if you have to buy their lids doesn't that get a little expensive? Thanks for answering my newbie questions.

You use the canning jar lids just the flat part if you like the look you can use the ring after you seal the jar.The ring is not important in vacuum sealing foods.

If you have the wrong sized sealer attachement for your canning jar..fill the canning jar put the flat lid plus the ring on the jar tighten down as tight as you can (this is to keep the flat lid in its proper place) insert the canning jar into a foodsaver canister, vacuume the canister like you normaly would, wait a couple of sec. release the pressure on the canister you should see the lid of the jar sink in and sometimes hear the tell tell ping.

Ive resealed the gk's babyfood jars this way to help keep it fresh,gravy you buy in the glass containers at the grocery store some sphgetti jars,small pickel jars,store brought pizza sauce in glass jars. If a canning flat lid fits the jar thats even better it can be hard to get the lids that come with store brought food jars to take a seal.

The plastic lids on store brougt items dont work it has to be a metal lid with that little plastic kinda seal around the inside. Ok went to look at the lids of the reused condiment jars...most all have that popup circle thing you can push down on to make sure the jar has kept its seal.

I hope that helps.

Brendajo, you can buy just the flat lids without the ring. Much cheaper if you don't need the ring for canning. You don't use the ring with the foodsaver. They are usually Ball or Kerr lids. Foodsaver doesn't have their own lids. You use the lids that come with new canning jars so if you are buying new jars, the lids are included.