MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Another Gauge Question

MamaHill

Hi Canning Ladies!

I have finally gotten started canning this year. (Late I know, but I have a new baby...). And I am also new to canning. I canned a couple of cannerfuls in Summer of 2007 and then one cannerful of green beans last week. And that's all so far.

My question:

I have a 23-qt Presto Canner that has a dial. I had it tested a few weeks ago and it was 2 pounds off. So instead of canning at 10# of pressure, I can at 8 according to the county ext. office where it was tested. Why didn't they re-set it? So I just can at this from now on? I'm a little unsure how to proceed.

Also, when I canned my pot of beans last week, my dial almost consistently stayed at 10# (it was supposed to be at 8) the whole 25 mins. I am canning on a flat-top stove and my canner was almost completely off the burner to keep it between 8 and 10. What should I have done? What happens if the pressure is too high? Still safe to eat?

Okay, so maybe that was more than one question. :huh:

I am canning some soup tomorrow, so any advice would be most appreciated.

Thank you! :)

I use an 18 Qt. Presto canner on a ceramic cooktop. The trick for me is to make sure there is enough water in the canner. a good three inches BEFORE putting the jars in. I have it at about 6 to keep it hot while adding the jars, then crank it to meduim high, about 8, to bring the pressure up, then once I start timing I turn the dial back to 4 and it stays right on the money at 10 pound the entire time.

It is not good to have your canner off the burner. You risk breaking the glass cooktop. The Presto works for ceramic cooktops beause the bottom is configured to make contactr within the burner circle and keep the larger circumfrence of the canner up off the the cooktop.