MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Looking on herbs to treat Fibromyalgia

ANewMe

I've been battling Fibro for about 11 years. I pretty much had it under control until now....I'm flaring. My Dr has me on Cymbalta and I guess it works ok, but my stress levels are on overload and I'm exhausted constantly. By the time I get in from work at the high school I can barely put one foot in front of the other.

Today I picked up some Magnesium 250 mg and Melatonin 3 mg. I'm researching other herbs or vitamins that may be helpful. I particularly have trouble with my hips and legs. It's painful to walk and sometimes to lay. My whole body is sensitive to touch. I'm having brain fog and I'm finding that noise drives me crazy. It's almost painful.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

ANewMe, check out www.northernlightshealtheducation.com. Dr Clark has a online video you can watch on autoimmune inflammatory diseases including fibro. Just two weeks ago, he gave a week-long seminar here that was awesome. He is not trying to sell anything. He just gives good information. He is a board certified physician and is a wealth of knowledge.

Daylily

DH has found D-Ribose to be of immense help to him. We take it in powder form, mixing it with our Emergen-C...it dissolves very well and by itself, the taste is pleasantly mild. It also comes in caplet form. Most vitamin stores will carry it...not cheap, but it sure helps, so to us it's worth it. The first time we picked some up was at a Compounding Pharmacy...for a whopping $78!! At Vitamin World where we get it now, it's roughly $35.

Thank you Daylily...I will definatley check that out. Alot of sites I have found are always trying to sell something. Not that I would mind buying something if it worked but I have to know it does before spending a penny on our budget.

Thanks Dons....I'm going to put that one on my list of things to check as well.