MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Thinking

zzelle

i am thinking of trying to online college plus work 37-40hrs a week raise three kids and be a full time wife so i can better myself and eventually make more money to support our family i am wanting to learn something that i will be able to stay at home and do on our computer any ideas any thoughts on what i could do our what college would should i use i need something we can afford. thanks i do not know if this goes here.

zzelle...I don't do this, but a friend of mine who had a master's degree in technical writing wound up taking a course in medical coding and making more money working at home in less hours doing that. You may not need a college degree to work at home -- so check into those things first. It might be cheaper.

In previous at-home jobs, I have been a message board manager. (yes, for pay!) and have done freelance writing for magazines. The market is a little dry now so I'm not doing a lot lately in that regard, but when I did write magazine articles, I often got from $1000 to $3000 per piece. I was getting a dollar a word at one place. I could knock out a three thousand word story in a matter of hours, with about three days prior spent doing the phone interviews. I used to do one or two a month when my daughter was younger. My degree is in journalism, but what got me the freelance jobs was my clips. (a portfolio of my best newspaper stories.)

My cousin has an elderly parent to care for. She was a bank teller, has no college degree. But she wanted to stay home to care for my uncle so she asked the bank if there were any data entry jobs she could do at home. They set up a secure line and she was able to keep a bank job and work at home. They transferred her to the branch that was less than a mile from her home so she could also go there for several hours a day while her dad napped. So she was able to keep working full-time, be home most of the time, and still stay in touch with her workplace.