MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Time to go back to WaterBath Canning

I am getting so frustrated. A week or so ago, I needed to re-do a batch of seasoned hamburger because my propane stove ran out of propane with only a few minutes to go. Today, I moved on to chili. Canned 7 pints, no problem although only 3 of them have sealed. Had the second batch in canning and all seemed to be going well until 60 minutes in and then the pressure just dropped. Heat had not been adjusted, still had a flame and plenty of propane. Tried to get it back up, but the burner was already as high as it would go. Now I have 11 pints of chili to either re-do or freeze.

Don't understand what is going on. I have been canning for a few years. Have canned many many jars of chili before as well as chicken, soups and pork. I really hate putting in all this time and effort with nothing to show for it.

Packing away the canner for the time being and will work on getting the tomatoes I want canned up instead. frown

The problem could be you are canning on too high a heat for the entire period, which is affecting your gasket.

Go read your pressure canner book where it tells you what temperature to can-- usually you need to put it at medium for the long haul canner times. The other problem is that your gasket may simply be worn out. They often need to be replaced every few years if you do a lot of canning. My canner troubles were magically erased when I got a new gasket! (and sometimes you need to replace the little red pressure plug if you have that on the lid, too)

Thanks for the ideas guys. I have an All American canner so the gasket is not the issue. Since I was canning outside and it was a coolish rainyish day, the pressure would not hold at 15lbs unless the heat was all the way up. I will check the pressure valve though and make sure that was clean - thanks for the ideas.