MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

White bread recipe

I have only been seriously making bread for a year. Prior to that I would occassionally turn out bagettes suitable enough to serve as baseball bats! I guess that's what happens when a newbie's first attempt at baking bread are bagettes.

Since then I have baked whole wheat, bran, sour dough, white bread and bagettes. I am finally starting to turn out some great bread. I have made EVERY mistake there is I think, along the way but have learned much. I am still by no means an expert but I now have confidence that I CAN do it. I now bake bread every weekend and have almost totally replaced store bought bread. I still have bloopers once in a while.

Following is a really nice white sandwich loaf recipe I found online.

I use a digital scale. I chose to use milk instead of water in the recipe. I also added slightly more sugar and more salt to this recipe. My flour was not organic.

Susan's Farmhouse White Sandwich Bread

Makes 3 loaves, approximately 1-1/2 pounds each

Ingredient US volume Metric Volume US weight Metric

organic all-purpose flour 4 cups | 940 ml | 1 lb, 4 ounces | 566 grams

instant yeast 2 Tablespoons | 30 ml | 22 grams

granulated sugar 2 Tablespoons | 30 ml | 28 grams

canola oil 2 Tablespoons | 30 ml | 30 grams

warm milk (or water) 4 cups | 940 ml | 2 lbs | 908 grams

organic bread flour (approximately) 6 cups | 1,410 ml | 1 lb, 13-1/8 ounces | 825 grams

salt 1-1/2 Tablespoons | 22 ml | 3/4 ounce | 22 grams

Mixing and fermentation

In a very large bowl, stir together the all-purpose flour, yeast, and sugar (I use a wooden spoon). Make a small well in the middle of the flour mixture and pour in the canola oil and then the milk. Mix well, then continue to stir vigorously, slowly adding 1 cup of the bread flour at a time, until you've added about 5 cups, or until you have a soft, slightly sticky dough; this should take several minutes.