MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Osteroporosis

I just had my 2nd bone density test. There is not much difference between the 2. My doctor want me to start taking Boniva. A year ago I tried Fosamax but was troubled by bad heartburn soI stopped taking it. She wanted me to have the iv Reclasp(sp) but after I showed her my brain scan she said I couldnt do it. My scan shows mild ischemic changes:( Not sure what that means but I dont like the sounds of it. Anyway, she wants me to start taking Boniva starting the 1st of SEpt. I have read so many bad side effects that Im almost afraid to consider it. I have 1200 mg of CA 2x a day. Any there any other things to do or take to avoid the Boniva? Thanks so much for any responses. Karen

I'm confused and concerned too. I have some bone thinning and my dr. told me to take OTC calcium with Vit. D. I've been doing it for about 5 years and a few months ago they came out and said calcium pills were bad for the heart.

I really don't want to make a Dr. a$$ointment just to ask about it though. I suppose I should get another bone density test when I go back for my annual next year.

Maybe the Boniva won't give you heartburn. Worth a try. I think it was CGA who said to take it first thing in the morning when you are more upright. Is Bonive a once a month pill? Maybe you would "only" have the heartburn for a day or so? Worth saving your bones.

Good luck on your quest and let us know how it all works out because many of us may be following your path soon.