MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Avian flu VS other pandemic flu

Peg

I went to some training (I'm an EMT) on the avian flu vs pandemic flu. The lady presenting (county health dept.) said it's not a matter of "if" pandemic flu will hit, it's a matter of "when" it will hit. The good news(?) is that it may not be avian flu, but something else like the Spanish or Asian flu. We are about 40 years overdue for a pandemic.

Keep up with the prepping.

I am stocking up on medicine for me , husband and the kids for this tax money will buy medicine to help us get thru if and when something hits. hate to see my family sick and would really hate to see them sick and not have medicine to help them.

• 3 weeks later...

Maybe I don't know what I am talking about, and I am sure someone more knowledgeable will correct my mistakes, but I don't think the only thing you have to worry about is a pandemic of flu. I always thought, that if you look back through history, many different diseases caused pandemics.

Some people think that the Black Death was caused by a type of highly infectious Viral hemorrhagic fever. No one today, knows what caused, the highly lethal, sweating fever, that afflicted Europe, during the16th and 17th centuries.

There has been at least one TV program, about what would happen, if terrorists got hold of a smallpox virus, and released it. And on top of that in today’s world, it might be possible for someone to “design” a virus, and release it.