MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

My first try!!

chefddr

:rolleyes: I couldn't wait any longer so I went to KMart in search of just the tools to start my canning with a steam canner I borrowed, when I saw it, yes there it was, the waterbath canner of my dreams at the dreamiest price too, only $20- so I picked it up with the tools, and decided I would make Jam today with Jake, well Jake got sick right in the middle of me filling the jars, and I was yelling "one second honey, mommyis almost finished!"

Into the waterbath they went (I never knew how long it took to boil a huge pot of water!! and I am a chef!!) anyway they did their thing and even as I was just taking them out of the water they decided to start pinging away! I got 12 half pints and one full pint. With a little bit left over to pour over pancakes in the AM

Attached are pics, next time I will cook the fruit in a larger pot, and I hope I got enough of the foam off, I thought the entire thing was going to boil over on my stove. I even had fun cleaning up the mess. What a sense of accomplishment. Now to pray they taste ok. Next, Lime Pineapple Jam

BTW someone please tell me that this stuff firms up as it cools PLEEASEEE :P

post-3614-1242435637_thumb.jpg

post-3614-1242435656_thumb.jpg

post-3614-1242435677_thumb.jpg

post-3614-1242435693_thumb.jpg

BTW someone please tell me that this stuff firms up as it cools PLEEASEEE :P

Looks great! What kind is it?

Yes, it does firm up as it cools. I've heard that sometimes it can also take a couple days. I haven't had that happen yet, but it's still early :rolleyes:

I made blackberry jam last night and used a low sugar pectin for the first time and it set up fine, I was worried, lol.

chefddr.... come over here!!

westbrook looks left and right.. making sure You Know Who isn't listening in... westbrook looks around the room.. nope don't see violet...