MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

lemon juice/citric acid ???)

TXQFMom

OK when I made jam last week it did not call for lemon juice for the blackberry with the Ball powedered pectin I used...

NOW I have the Pamona pectin and it says lemon juice for black berries! Well says it for sweet blackberries...

I do NOT have lemon juice...

I know you can sub citric acid.... (mine from the herb store had fragrance oil break near it and smells like creme brulee!

I have no fresh citric acid...

I do have some from a candle/soap supplier... is this the same or is there food grade & non food grade...

I wouldn't try anything from a soap supplier. The lemon juice may not be necessary, I thought it was just to keep the color and maybe take the edge off of a too sweet jam... but don't take my word for it. I typically can whole fruit. This is my first year doing jams.

I second that... no to anything NOT bought as "food grade" FOR foods.

It says for "sweet" ones, so obviously it's gonna be ok if you don't use it.

yumyum

I did it without anything... was too nervous to add the soap stuff though likely identical! And I had made the other batches without it.

We'll see this was using Pomona pectin... so I had to mix up calcium water, but it lets you double and triple recipes... next time I might try QUARTS of jam. I liked that you could buy it bulk and could use low sugar with it! I did 1 leavings pint in the fridge so I'll see what the dc say...

The lemon juice is added to make a gel. When you make jams you have the right ratio of fruit, sugar, pectin, and acid to get a gel. I know, Pomona's is different, but you still use the acid when called for.

I use Pomonas. Made sugar free plum jelly today with Splenda. It called for lemon juice, which I added. I doubled my recipe. I also used a can of frozen apple juice concentrate. Love the flavor it gives.