MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Sprouts

I sprout. Just saw a site today that you soak some things and sprout others. I sprout lentils, they grow so much in a couple of days. I have a sprout master and you rinse twice a day. I buy packages of sprouting seeds and have fresh sprouts every day. I soak wheat berries and eat them. Wheat grass is good and very nutritous. Use a 4 in pot with some potting soil in the bottom. Place your berries on top and water. Put on a sunny window. They keep growing and are very good. Our local grocery market carries wheat grass in the produce section. Costs 2.49 for a small tub. I sprout mine for about 3 cents. Go figure.

I used to sprout using a mason jar with the ring and cheesecloth. I've only grown alfalfa sprouts but would like to try others. It's fun like having a science project going on in your kitchen. Bread raising, sour dough bubbling, sprouts growing.

Jan

• 3 months later...

Grubby: How did your sprouts turn out? What kind did you use? I could kick myself because I saw some when I was in the big city at Wild Oats and passed them by because DH was tapping his foot, waiting for me to rush through the store.

I make sprouts all through the winter so I don't have to pay for lettuce for things like sandwiche. I buy sprout seeds (alfalfa) in bulk at a local store. I have a 2 quart jar I start them in, and I just put a piece of nylon over the end and screw the band on. The nylon allows the sprouts to breathe, and you don't need to take anything off to rinse and drain.

On the first day, I let them soak for maybe an hour (basically while I am doing something else LOL). Rinse/drain and throw the jar in the windowsill. Then I just rinse/drain once a day and throw them back in the window. I use about 3 tablespoons of seed for a 2 quart jar.

Have fun and good luck!

Shawna

Shawna, that's a great thought about using sprouts instead of lettuce, especially since lettuce has been so expensive lately. And thanks for that link, West.