MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Newbie user and introduction

Hello all,

I am a newbie to your site. And it is fabulous! I am a little overwhelmed and am not sure where to begin as there is so much information. (Knowledge is a good thingsmile.gif) Can someone give me the 411 on where to begin on how to use this site-- what are some of the newbie references, etc.. (And I hope I posted in the correct forum!)

As my profile indicates I am 45 live in SW Ohio. I have been married to the hubbs for 20 yrs on Valentines Day. I have one daughter who is grown and married. I LOVE to garden! It began with flowers and expanded to include vegetables and some fruits. I am recently unemployed (I worked as chemist for 20 years) as my job was outsourced due to manufacturing plant closure. (Nothing like sending jobs overseas--hooray) Sorry for the sarcasm--I am a little testy on the subject sad.gif

I grew up with lessons in frugality and practiced it most of my adult life. However, now with no job (and little prospects) we are really tightening our belts. We are ok but looking around I realize the rest of the world isn't so much. Since I have so much free time now (haha) I am putting it to good use. I learned a little about preserving food from grandma as a child (IF ONLY I had been more attentive). I recently took some canning classes so I could really know what I was doing (and not make anyone sick with my efforts in preservation). I also have been taking sewing classes--something else I failed to pay attention to in the arrogance of my youth. So that's where I am. Trying to be frugal, prepare a buffer for my family if (when?) the poo hits the fan and honestly enjoying doing the same things my grandma's used to do. Somehow it makes me feel a little closer to them.

Thanks!

GG

WELCOME HOME! :hug3:

Here's a nice place to start... http://mrssurvival.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=41481