MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Meatballs

YYY

Hi Everybody,

As some of you may remember, I am very new to canning. I just started this past fall, and I still sometimes feel intimidated by recipes with lots of ingredients.

I found a recipe on another board – FluWiki - for canning meatballs. There are only 2 ingredients to heat and then process. It’s so-o-o simple that even the intimidated among us can feel more confident. It is truly a recipe for newbies and everybody else. So I thought I’d share.

http://www.newfluwiki2.com/showDiary.do?diaryId=655

Under “keep those canners going”, Hillbilly Bill says, “I have been buying bags of frozen meatballs from Sams/Walmart. There are 80 or so in a bag and I fit 9 meatballs in a wide mouth pint jar and cover them with inexpensive Ragu marinara sauce. I can get 8 wide mouth pints in my canner and I use 3 jars of sauce. There is just enough left over meatballs and sauce to have pasta for lunch.”

I found the meatballs at Walmart for about $5.

Pressure can pints for 75 minutes and quarts for 90 minutes.

I hope this helps.

YYY

YYY...

I'm a member over at fluwiki too and am a frequent voice in their canning threads. Hillbilly Bill is an absolute sweetheart, but he's not necessarily experienced with home canning, so just be wise in which recipes others share. Kathy in FL is another really sweet girl, but her and I have had differences of opinion on home canning.

It's all a journey and we all learn as we go.

I would think that if the meatballs you purchased contained bread crumbs or egg that those would make it a no-no. If the meatballs were just meat & seasonings, it should be fine.

Also, watch that Ragu for thickeners. That's another no-no.

YYY,

Just look at the ingredients...the meatballs were frozen, which has different requirements than home canning. That should give you an idea whether this is something you'd wanna do in the future.