MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Final Salute

Marine

Just wanted to share this. For one thing, I'm a Marine. I never got to go to play over there, but it wasn't for lack of trying. I tried to go back in 3 times since 9/11.

But I'm a disabled vet, and I can't run. Sorta puts a damper on it.

But this hits home for me.

And also because I know a bunch of you won't be able to make it through without crying. I couldn't.... I'm man enough to admit it.

http://denver.rockymountainnews.com/news/finalSalute/

Wow.

Cry doesn't quite express it. My heart hurts, my eyes are filled with tears and yet there is a pride there...in these men and women and in my country.

God bless them.

Half way through boot camp in the Navy I had an officer approach me and tell me to apply to the honor guard upon completion of boot. I thought about that for a couple of days and then let it slip my mind. People asked years later why. Until I read this I couldn't remember why I did not apply. Now I do. I do not believe I would have had the strength to go through it. Not what those Marines described. And I know from being in the military, that what they described was only a small portion of what they felt and live with.

Originally Posted By: Marine

But I'm a disabled vet, and I can't run. Sorta puts a damper on it.

Thank you for sharing that, Marine. It was very moving. Some make the ultimate sacrifice for our country, and we should honor them and appreciate the sacrifice that they and their families make for us.

But even those who survive make sacrifices. My dad made it through WWII, mostly intact, but he lost his hearing and he had nightmares for years, so he paid a price. And my Cowboy ... he still has nightmares about stuff that happened, stuff that he'd rather forget. The surviving vets deserve our appreciation and our honor for the sacrifices they made too. There are prices to be paid. Your disability shows that as well.

Thank YOU too,

• 2 months later...