MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Food Storage Questions

Hi,

I'm new to all of this prepping, and getting ready to purchase vegetables. I do want to actually use what I purchase, and rotate my storage supplies, so I am already using food storage for everyday.

I was wondering which kind of veggies most of you prefer..freeze dried or dehydrated? I remember freeze dried stawberries in some kind of commercial cereal from years ago, and it wasn't very exciting! Ix-nay on the f.d. ice cream I've tasted, as well! Hopefully, things have improved since then! I'm not sure I've ever had dehydrated veggies, but fruit is good.

Also, I have opened a #10 can of powdered eggs...holy moly...it may take me a decade to eat all that!! (I am just one person). Should I vacuum seal most of it, now that the can is opened??

Thanks a bunch!

Use the eggs in your baking and stirred into your Instant Breakfast. Back when I bought the macaroni and cheese boxes with the packet of orange powder, I stirred a heaping spoonful of powdered egg into the orange powder whenever it was available. You might be surprised at how fast the can goes.

I prefer dehydrated because they are usually cheaper, usually stay good longer in my humid atmosphere after being opened, and because f-d foods have all the original volume, while dried take up a fraction of the room.

And if anyone finds dried onions for a lot less than a dollar a ounce, please let me know where!

Freeze dried can only be obtained commercially at a premium price. Dehydrated veggies you can do yourself and keep the cost to a minimum. However, I don't concentrate too much on the dry goods because in a disaster situation -- which is what you are prepping for -- water is probably going to be a premium and only available if you have stored your own.