MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Canning Questions? Under 20 per day

HappyCamper45

loveplace

I've had a lot of my questions answer already, because I'm new at this I have lots more questions..

Hope it's alright to post them here... I have the newest blue book and it was well worth it.

I have canned butter which I was told here is an absolute no no no. DarleneSwoon

Well, I have 2 cases of butter I'm scared to death of... mecry

I've also made and canned corn chowder? it's made with evaporated milk...it's fantastic, but are we going to die...It was PC.

1. Can you use can evaporated milk in a recipe that is used for canning?

2. I also found out you can't use corn starch...Is that correct?

Was wondering is their a list of ingrediance that you can't use in canning?

Someone silly once told me that if you can eat it you can can it.

3. My pressure canner leaks water all over the stove when it heat up...Why? The ring is brand new, it's been used about 10 times.

4. I have canned meat following the exact directions...However some of the quart jar lost a lot of the broth...The meat is exposed...Is this still good to eat because it look nasty..

Thanks

Hi HappyCamper!

Don't can dairy...Any kind, except you can use a small amount to reduce foaming in jellies and jams.

Don't can cakes or breads in a jar, unless you eat them right away or freeze them.

Don't can summer squash...It used to be allowed, but no longer. If you can pumpkin, sweet potatoes, or winter squash..It must be done in cubes, not pureed. You can no longer can pumpkin butter, unless you freeze it also.

Can creamed corn only in pints. You can safely can, peeled, cubed white potatoes. Can chili con carne, with beans, in only pint sized jars.