MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Bad timing on the cilantro

Vlynn

It's ready to harvest now, but ripe tomatoes in my garden are at least 2 weeks out. Would cilantro keep that long in the fridge? I've heard it loses a lot of flavor when frozen. Could I dehydrate it in measurements I need for my salsa and use it in place of the fresh cilantro that's called for? What if I chop it and add it to the lemon juice now (both in the amounts called for in my salsa recipe)?

Originally Posted By: Virginia
How do you know its ready? I have a very small patch and don't know what to do with it.

I judge mine as being ready when it looks like the stuff they sell in the produce section at the store. It looks a lot like a bunch of flat-leaf parsley. One year, I waited too long, and it started going to seed (then I think it's coriander).

Hi Vlynn and Virginia too! wave

I'm no expert, but I can tell you my experience with cilantro.

If left uncut, it will go to seed, but if you cut it, it continues to grow. Once it has gone to see, you have coriander.

It doesn't store well, here's an article and at the very bottom talks about how to harvest.

http://www.howtodothings.com/home-and-gard...t-cilantro.html

Thanks. I bought a small pot at the farmer's market, and it is doing fine. I have never grown herbs so it is all new to me. I think mine may be ready to cut, but I have such a small plot it won't be much. I may let it go to seed.

Originally Posted By: pricklypear
You didn't have to dry it first?

I didn't dry it. It only has to keep a week or two. If it's not fresh when time comes to make salsa, I'll pitch it out and chalk it up to a lesson learned.

the seeds are not cumin. The seeds are coriander, which is often used *with* cumin in both mexican and indian cooking. but they are not interchangeable. Cumin is an elongated seed. Coriander is a round seed.

whoops!