MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Raw pack poultry

Homemaker

I'm planning on raw packing some chicken today. I've never done raw pack before and I have a few questions.

I looked at a few directions on line and in my canning book about canning raw chicken. There were a few important pieces of info I need before I start.

Do I pack my cold, raw chicken into hot sterilized jars?

Do I then take my hot jars with the cold meat in them and place them into the boiling water of my pressure canner?

To sum up these two questions:

Will the temperature differences between the cold meat and the hot jars and boiling canner water cause my jars to crack?

I don't want to ruin my meat or my jars, so I'll wait for the experts to advize me.

Maybe I'm just thinking about this too much and it really isn't a problem.

Okay, I've just been dilly-dallying around the house, waiting for an answer. I guess all of our canners are off doing something else.

What? Don't you all just sit by the computer all day waiting to help us??

I guess I'll get to my housework and check back later.

:clothesline::dusting::pc_coffee:

Homemaker, that the way I do it. I have not had a jar bust yet. I was concerned like you about the temperature differeneces. I would hold my breath everytime I put a jar in the canner. You can do it.

:wormie2:

John

Well, they did just fine.

The second batch is about done.

It's so much easier to can meat separate than it is to can a complete meal-in-a-jar. Of course, I will need to be sure I have the rest of the ingredients to complete the meal when I'm ready to open it.

I won't put all of my eggs in one basket. I'll do some complete and some separate.

Interesting. Nobody has mentioned that you have to add either boiling water or broth to the chicken in the jars up to the specified headspace. Hot jar -- warm chicken pieces -- hot liquid -- hot canner.