MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Diet for Autistic children ?

They think my 2 yr. old DGS is slightly autistic, he will be tested by a professional on Sept. 8. There is something about a glutton free diet and other ways to change what they eat that can help. Does anyone know anything about this? hanks. Kelly

I do GFCF for a living. PM me and I'll gladly give you a copy of my work.

Regardless of what the testing shows, you should consider trialing him on a GFCF diet to see what the extent of his reaction is. Some people don't test positive, but have leaps and bounds improvement on the diet. My daughter falls into that category. She's normal as long as she's on the diet. One exposure to dairy or gluten, and all of her symptoms return.

Try watching this video series. (6 videos) I have a pediatrician friend that is in my Weston Price group, and she is having phenomenal success with it.

The author is Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride and she wrote Gut and Psychology. Many people in my group joined because their children were autistic, and have reported that their children have improved by leaps and bounds. Some are even in "normal" classrooms. (whatever that means)

http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=natasha+mcbride&emb=0#

It probably would help with ADD/ADHD kids too. I know I changed my sons diet when he was two to less processed, less artificial flavorings, chemicals and very few times a year would I give him fresh made spaghetti/ravioli sauces.... I need to actually go to the link.... but I am sure it would help autistic and ADHD/ADD kids probably!

Sounds like you have success Percysgirl!

diet is so important for many conditions!

Good luck to anyone facing such dilemmas.