MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

canning chicken noodle soup and soup stock

kathy003

I was thinking this morning,,, the experts on here should write a book called "Canning for Dummies", cause i would buy it. I think this is a pretty simple answer but I am still in the stages of canning where I don't want to make a mistake,, so here goes,,,

I am making chicken noodle soup today to can. I add celery, onions, parsley, carrots and salt. I am going to can this. I read in a book that when i can the soup to fill the quart jar up 1/2 way with chicken and vegetables, then fill the rest of the quart jar up with broth. Is this correct?

My other question is I want to use the remaining broth for soup stock. From my Ball Blue Book it says to strain everything out, allow to cool and skim fat off top. Bring stock to boil and add to pint jars. so, the way I read this is what goes into jars is just the broth from the chicken. I can make gravy from this, am i correct in this?

Thanks

I'm no expert, still very much the student. Darlene did a pictorial/tutorial on canning chicken soup, it's sooooo helpful. I'm going to go find it and give you a link to it.

I do want to make sure you realize that you do NOT add the noodles or rice to the soups. Be right back with that link.

Thanks Stephaine! I'm going to look at the link right now.

About 15 minutes ago DH walked into the kitchen and got really excited about the soup he thought it was for dinner,, I didn't have the heart to tell him I was going to can it,,, so I guess i'll be making more soup Friday to can!

I'm going to look at the video right now

Darlene's soup recipe is great.

I follow her directions to make the stock, chill over night and skim fat. Then use it to make soup or can it way it is. Use same directions for turkey stock, and going to modify it just a hair for rabbit stock this weekend.