MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Long-time Lurker, 1st Day Posting

themartianchick

Hello, everyone!

A post by LunaMother on another forum led me to Mrs. S about a year ago. I've been lurking ever since. I tend to do that for a while before joining a forum.

My husband and I live in an urban setting in Central NY State. We have two children that are currently in college, so we are both working diligently to get them through school without creating any debt.

We consider ourselves to be urban homesteaders.We heat our home primarily with wood, raise chickens, quail and lots of vegetables. I can, freeze and dehydrate to preserve as much food as possible and I am a self-proclaimed coupon queen.

Professionally, I work as a small business consultant for a non-profit agency. If I can be of service to anyone here, please let me know. (This isn't an attempt to solicit services. My advice is given freely to anyone who asks.) I am also a freelance business and agricultural writer and have just recently finished writing my first novel.

I'm really looking forward to participating in the forums here and especially hope to learn a lot from all of you!

LOVE the name!!!! :24:

May I ask why you chose that one? Because you feel out of sync with your neighbors, perhaps?

Welcome, and jump right in. I always wonder why people lurk when there is just so much more fun in joining us. :happy0203:

If there's anything we can help you find, just ask. There's lots of stuff here and we can search out whatever you're looking for!

:bighug2:

LOVE the name!!!! :24:

May I ask why you chose that one? Because you feel out of sync with your neighbors, perhaps?

That is exactly correct! I was raised in the country and though I lost touch with my roots for awhile, I've never quite been into the things that city folks seem to think are important. I have no desire to own a Gucci handbag nor do I need 3 inch dragon lady nails!Give me some new gardening tools and I'm pretty happy.