MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Practicing Preps-Wounds

Mother

No doctor or medical facility is availabe to you. One of your family members has sustained a deep wound made by a hand saw.

How would you handle this wound if no artery has been severed but in ordinary circumstances it would require stitches?

How would you handle it if the wounds is more serious and an artery has been nicked or severed?

How would you handle smaller wounds and punctures?

bighug

Mom,

Now that's a good well-defined scenario to think through a number of principles.

The main priniciple to consider in wound care is really very basic. Details follow from the main principles. The principle for any kind of wound trauma is:

Stop the bleeding

Dress the wound

Treat for shock

Worst first for me is a basic triage way of thinking (I'm an RN by profession). Stopping an arterial bleed is much more difficult than a veinous wound. Arteries are larger and deeper than veins and there is more pressure because the arteries are flowing 'from' the heart to extremities while veins take blood from extremities back to the heart. Arteries are deeper within our flesh because we have a great God that created us to survive (thank you Lord).