MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

why do you can food?

kathy003

I was thinking of canning peaches next week, this will be my first canning experience, and was looking at fruit stands to find prices on peaches. I found a place that sells a bushel of peaches for $19.00, the bushel is about 55 lbs they said. This comes out to about $2.89 per lb, unless my math is incorrect, which is very possible. My question is, this is more expensive than purchasing fruit in a can at the grocery store. So, if this is more expensive, why are people canning?

On the other hand, our local fruit market has peaches much cheaper, but smaller and the quality isn't as good. I am assuming quality matters.

it is just curiousity that i'm asking this. I've been reading about canning on this site for two days and it sounds like something I want to try. By trade, i'm a candlemaker, so the hot weather does not bother me,,, and in MI. it's not all that hot, surprisingly. And, it sounds like something I would enjoy.

I didn't grow enough in my garden this year to can anything, but next year i already have a vision of how i want to arrange my garden so I will have enough to can. This was my first year ever gardening,, i've really, really enjoyed it. So I want to dip my fingers in canning so I have some experience before next year.

Just wondering if i'm missing something here for people who purchase their fruit.

kathy

My calculation says that's $0.34 per pound of peaches.

I purchased fruit and made jam. there are two main reasons -- first is taste. The taste of homemade jam is incomparable. My son and husband both *really* love my jam. The second reason is that i know what went it in. I know there's real sugar (not corn syrup). I know the field where those strawberries were grown and I know they don't spray or pee in the fields or anything.

:-)

Hi Kathy! welcome5