MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Introducing myself

mom2one

Hello Good People!

Thank you for having this forum and keeping it active! I am new to prepping in reference to long term. I've been gathering information, formulating my plan and making all kinds of lists. Extra money is tight but I've got a budget going for our preps and will begin stocking soon.

A bit about me, my name is Pam. I'm mom to a wonderful 10 year old boy. DS is totally disabled and has been since birth. He is on a ventilator with a trach, has a g-tube and will most likely be dependent on others for his care for the rest of his life. He is non-verbal and non-mobile. He is the main catalyst that prompted me to start learning about long term prepping. With all that is going on in the world, I'm scared to death about what will happen to him if our meager 'creature' comforts were gone. DH is also disabled. He can care for himself and is able to help me in most areas. We live in the southern part of the US. We've prepped for hurricanes and flooding. Quite a bit of what I've read online I had already become familiar with due to those.

The only other person I've talked to (really specifically) regarding long term prepping is my mom. DH is prone to be reactive as opposed to proactive. I'm totally the opposite. I don't like surprises and I definitely don't like to depend on others for my well being (if at all possible). I have been easing DH into long term prepping with conversations like the high costs of food and gas, insuring our lives are strong for DS. At one point in our lives we were homeless. He understands my fierce determination that we won't be there again.

I consider myself a "Jane-of-all-trades" as I have had hands-on experience with canning, gardening, carpentry, home repairs, some mechanical repairs and a few others. I can sew both with a machine and by hand. I can crochet. I can repurpose most items in some fashion.

I look forward to learning more and contributing as much as I can.