MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Beef stew and canner lid

Evergreen

Here is a picture of my Beef Stew With Vegatables. I used the Blue Ball Book recipe but I switched fresh green snap beans for the celery -also there is lots of meat in there even though it did not show in the pictures! I canned 7 quarts banana

Well I hope the picture will show up this is my first try.

1091-100_1542.JPG

It worked!!! clap Not only did I can 7 quarts of Beef Stew- I learned to post a picture!!!

Here is my canner lid- I am posting these to ask about the buttons in the lid.

The one visable from the outside of the lid does not move at all. It is on the top side of the lid -as in I realize the one in the middle is the vent pipe(Any ideas of why it is there???)

The one near the handle on the inside seems to be connicted to a lock on the handle. The canner was leaking steam form this area when the steam first started to build than it stopped (leaking).

Does everything look ok?

This is a Mirro M-0512 12 quart

1092-100_1543.JPG

1093-100_1544.JPG

Your jars are absolutely stunning! Kudos to you!

That black plug looking thing on your lid is your emergency vent plug...in case something were to go wrong, instead of blowing the lid off the canner, that plug would pop at a high enough pressure and safely release the pressure on the inside of the canner.

I'm not sure what that thang is on the inside of your lid...perhaps it's like you say and has something to locking the connection.

Regardless it all looks awesome to me...congrats!

If I'm not mistaken, the button with the wing nut thingy on the your lid is a safety valve. If something goes wrong, it will pop off and let the pressure out instead of the lid blowing off. I'm not sure about the other flat one.

Your beef stew looks wonderful!

Great beef stew, you did good.